Konsertarkiv / januari 26, 2017

15 september 2019

15 september 2019 kl 18.00
Katarina kyrka, Södermalm


Musik inspirerad av vattens urkraft, med nordiska toner i fokus och Katarina Andreasson vid rodret. Välkommen till Orkestern Filialens höstkonsert – en av de två gånger om året när orkestern själv väljer programmet, solister och dirigenten!

Bild: ’Utsikt över Siljan’ av Hugo Alfvén – en man som målade med både akvareller och toner. Med tillstånd av Hugo Alfvénfonden.


Anna Larsson


Maja Frydén

Om musiken


Geysir (Jon Leifs, 1899-1968)

’Geysir is part of the cycle of nature sound-images which also includes Dettifoss and Hekla. It is designated a ’Prelude for orchestra’ and is heavy with portentous bass pedal points. These ’brew’ tension ready for the explosion of energy – the superheated spout of water gasping and shreiking skywards. It is a most vivid piece – not at all rich in themes. Instead we hear a series of effects sustained at climax for longer than the phenomenon itself. It is as if Leifs holds, slows and magnifies the experience of the great uprush of steam and water. This would prove an arresting concert opener and although the bass pedal might suggest to the innocent the start of Also Sprach Zarathustra the remainder is a closer relative to Nystroem’s and Sibelius’s preludes to The Tempest – stormy onomatopoeia – rather than storms of the human psyche. Once again if one must find parallels (and I always try to no matter how strained) I would point to Roy Harris’s string writing.’ Review by Rob Barnett.

Sånger vid havet (Gösta Nystroem, 1890-1966)

Solist: Anna Larsson, mezzosopran

Den svenske tonsättaren Gösta Nystroem tog inspiration från havsrelaterad poesi för denna ca 17 minuter långa, mycket stämningsfulla sångsvit. Texten till den första sången, ‘Ute i skären’ skrevs av Ebba Lindqvist; den andra, ‘Nocturne’, av Edith Södergran’ och den tredje, ‘Havets visa’ av Hjalmar Gullberg. ‘Jag har ett hem vid havet’ är den fjärde sången, med text av Ragnar Jändel och den sista, ‘Jag väntar månen’, är en sättning av Hjalmar Gullbergs dikt. Det är en – framför allt jämfört med denna konserts övriga två verk – väldigt måttfull och nedtonad orkester som ackompanjerar sångsolisten i dessa sånger, och tonsättaren publicerade även en version med pianoackompanjemang.

Från havsbandet: Symfoni #4 (Hugo Alfvén, 1872-1960)

Solister: Maja Frydén, sopran & Carl Unander-Scharin, tenor

Hugo Alfvén är en av Sveriges mest älskade tonsättare, så det kan vara intressant att höra hur han beskrivs på engelska. Joseph Stephenson beskriver havets symfoni så här: ’The skerries are a series of archipelagos that lie seaward from Stockholm. Alfvén frequently sailed out to them, and as early as well before 1908 (when he first began sketching themes for this symphony) he concieved a wish to paint in music his impressions of the sea in this region. The work, played continuously, falls into four major sections, and is as much a tone poem as a symphony. It is a richly sensuous work, which simultaneously depicts the forces of nature and the story of a love between two human beings. First the man’s agonising desires, then the woman’s dreamy yearning, then the rising of the sun and the revelation of the highest bliss of love, are linked to, respectively, a dark nocturne of currents and rocks, moonlight on a surging sea, and sunlight rising and passing over the waves. Finally, a sea-storm is linked to tragedy and ”the annihilation of happiness”. If this sounds sensuous and erotic to you, you are right. The music has the passion of Wagner and the surging action of Richard Strauss, employing a large orchestra of eight horns and winds in fours, with harps, piano, and percussion. It was premiered in 1919 and roundly attacked as immoral, but in the 1920s gained some favor outside of Sweden. Its richness and ardent fervour, as well as the great musical skill and imagination evident in the music, make it an extraordinary music in the late Romantic style.’